wheteen.blogg.se

Tor house prize for poetry
Tor house prize for poetry











tor house prize for poetry

A pearl of light rolled across the onyx sky. Listen, my buddy Reggie swore he saw a UFO while we shared a sub outside the WaWa on Chestnut Street. Into the silence, your heart weightless after quenching your quenchable thirst. How your cup runneth over, Dog, padding away Next time, even though I was moving back to Philly in two days.

tor house prize for poetry

Vanishing into men-her terror at anything resembling trust. Or I didn’t know this was her way of explaining herself: the unanswered calls, I wish I could say I wasn’t paying attention, She said she neededĪ meeting and wanted me to come.

tor house prize for poetry

On the radio, her sable hair pouring onto my knees. Lightning scarred the horizon as she reached to change the channel She had just come back after disappearing again. On the way from Orlando to Gainesville, in the middle of a conversationĪbout stopping for lunch. This is how she left, this is how I let her. I clung to her scent of sweat and lilac, knowing, even then, Teen face glowering as a judge hammered down Life.

tor house prize for poetry

Months later, his killer stood slouched, his pocked The fists battering his cheeks and jaw until one of them grabbed the pipeįred brought with him. I wasn’t there when it happened, but I could have been, might’ve cheered She needed everyone to see what boys could do to each other. His head much too big, his face swollen beyond human. Wrenched awake into memory, I saw him in his cream-colored coffin, The woman I loved, he told me to run when he saw Scotty and Bret leapįrom the stands at Hetzel’s Field with aluminum bats. The last time I thought about Freddy was in a dream. The neighbor’s dog laps through the wall. The city mutters:Ī car backfiring, a scream-a drunk calling, “Kev, you fuck! Where are you?” I still don’t like him, can’t forget his smartass mouth, the way he called meĭirtball, how he laughed at the holes in my bobos. I’m thinking about the eleventh grade-the year Freddy was killed. The Sound of the Dog Drinking from the Toilet, the Beating of my Heart













Tor house prize for poetry